The Pinochet Plot by David Myles Robinson Review by Dawn Thomas Paperback: 280 pages Publisher: Terra Nova Books (May 1, 2018) Language: English ISBN-10: 1938288203 ISBN-13: 978-1938288203 Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Political Thriller Will Munoz is a San Francisco attorney who represents high paying slick clients. While sitting in a deposition, he asked himself how he became this person. He receives a troubling letter from his mother that leads...

1 Comment belladonnathomas Read More

Book Review Ashes in the Ocean by Sebastian Slovin Review by Dawn Thomas 222 Pages Publisher: Nature Unplugged Release Date: March 17, 2018 ISBN-10: 0692051198 ISBN-13: 978-0692051191 Non-Fiction, Memoir, Suicide, Family Relationships, Counseling, Psychology, Grief & Loss The subject of mental illness does not get enough discussion. Families that are touched by suicide are never the same again. Most times, the ones left behind do not get res...

1 Comment belladonnathomas Read More

Everything We Left Behind by Kerry Lonsdale Review by Dawn Thomas Rating: 5 stars 348 Pages Publisher: Lake Union Publishing Release Date: July 4, 2017 General Fiction (Adult), Women’s Fiction, Relationships, Family Dynamics Carlos and James have something in common. They share the same body but not the same memories. James is suffering from a psychological fugue. In this state, James disappears and Carlos emerges. He lives in Mexico with his t...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More

Everything We Keep by Kerry Lonsdale Review by Dawn Thomas Rating: 5 stars 304 Pages Publisher: Lake Union Publishing Release Date: August 1, 2016 Series: The Everything Series General Fiction (Adult), Women’s Fiction, Family Dynamics Aimee should be happy on her wedding day. Instead she is planning her fiancé, James’, funeral. Her whole world is spiraling out of control. A woman approaches Aimee and tells her James is still alive. Aimee doe...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More

Designs to Color by Betty Schaffner Review by Dawn Thomas Rating: 3 stars Pages 23 Publisher: Tallfellow Press Release Date: February 17, 2016 Nonfiction, Arts, Crafts, Hobbies, Teens & YA This book is a combination of a coloring book with Zentangle images. Some of the pages use thick lines with large coloring areas while others are more detailed with thin lines. Most of the images are are abstract geometric shapes. Many of the images have b...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More

Blue Ribbon Canning by Linda J. Amendt Review by Dawn Thomas Rating: 5 stars 268 Pages Publisher: Taunton Press Release Date: April 28, 2015 Nonfiction (Adult), Food & Wine, Cooking For years, I have wanted to can and make preserves. I tried twice with disastrous results. When I saw this book, I had hope and was inspired to try it again. The book begins with detailed sections on ingredients, equipment, and techniques. The author provides hel...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More

The Gail Force by Robert Lane Review by Dawn Thomas Rating: 4 stars 399 Pages Publisher: Mason Alley Publishing / AuthorBuzz Release Date: September 16, 2016 Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense The story begins with Riley and Karl preparing dinner in a house on St. Kitts. Karl stopes suddenly when he sees the Fat Man, Philip Agatha. As his last act, Karl throws Riley over the deck to save her life. Riley arrives in St. Pete, Florida looking for ...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More

13 Under the Wire by Gil Reavill Review by Dawn Thomas Rating: 4 stars 241 Pages Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Alibi Release Date: May 24, 2016 Fiction, Mystery, Suspense, Crime, Police Procedural Layla Remington is a police officer in southern California. There are riots in the streets after a white officer shoots a Hispanic man. Layla sees an officer running down an alley and she goes after him. Next thing she knows, shots are fi...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More

Very Like A Queen by Martin Lake Review by Dawn Thomas Rating: 4 stars 402 Pages Publisher: Lake Union Publishing Release Date: January 26, 2016 Fiction, Literary Fiction, Historical, British, French Alice Petherton is the mistress and favorite of King Henry VIII. As the favorite, she has special privileges. She is young and beautiful and has the protection of the King. Everything is fine until she falls for Nicholas Bourbon, a Frenchman, when vi...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More

The Awakened Dreamer by Kala Ambrose Review by Dawn Thomas Rating: 5 stars 242 Pages Publisher: Llewellyn Worldwide Release Date: December 8, 2017 Non-Fiction, Mind, Body, Dreams Recently I have been experiencing very vivid dreams. I started writing them down so I could look up their meanings. This book made that process so much easier. The book has nine chapters (a very auspicious number). Contents One: How to Remember Your Dreams In this chapte...

1 Comment belladonnathomas Read More
Toward a Secret Sky by Heather Maclean
Reviews / March 15, 2018

Title: Toward a Secret Sky Author: Heather Maclean Publisher: Blink / Harper Collins Publishing Release Date: April 4, 2017 Pages: 384 Description Toward a Secret Sky by New York Times bestselling author Heather Maclean is a new breed of YA novel: an intelligent adventure-quest crossed with a sweeping, forbidden love story. A mix of reality and possibility, this fast-paced thriller will appeal to fans of Stephenie Meyer and Dan Brown as...

Traditional Wicca by Thorn Mooney
Reviews / March 15, 2018

Title: Traditional Wicca Author: Thorn Mooney Publisher: Llewellyn Publications Release Date: July 8, 2018 Pages: 216 Description “A masterful gem of insight and wisdom, Traditional Wicca: A Seeker’s Guide reveals the time-honored practices of initiatory Wicca, thought all but lost by many, but hidden like so many occult secrets in plain sight. Drawing a clear and respectful distinction between eclectic Wicca and its older more trad...

Ivory Ghosts by Caitlin O’Connell
Reviews / March 15, 2018

Title: Ivory Ghosts Series: A Catherine Sohon Elephant Mystery Author: Caitlin O'Connell Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Alibi Release Date: April 7, 2015 Pages: 303 Description Still grieving over the tragic death of her fiancé, American wildlife biologist Catherine Sohon leaves South Africa and drives to a remote outpost in northeast Namibia, where she plans to face off against the shadowy forces of corruption and r...

The Book Club Murders by Leslie Nagel
Reviews / March 15, 2018

Title: The Book Club Murders Author: Leslie Nagel Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Alibi Release Date: September 27, 2016 Pages: 264 Description Charley Carpenter has poured heart and soul into her clothing store, Old Hat Vintage Fashions. She’ll do anything to make it a success—even join the stuffy Agathas Book Club in order to cultivate customers among the wealthy elite of Oakwood, Ohio. Although mixing with the most i...

Cost of Life by Joshua Corin
Reviews / March 15, 2018

Title: Cost of Life Author: Joshua Corin Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Alibi Release Date: March 17, 2015 Pages: 285 Description For readers of Preston & Child, James Rollins, and Brad Thor comes a gripping new thriller from Joshua Corin, in which an audacious hijacking is just the beginning of a twisted international nightmare. Flight 816 has been hijacked and the terrorists have decided to auction off the passengers onl...

A Curious Beginning by Deanna Raybourn
Reviews / March 15, 2018

Title: A Curious Beginning Series: Veronica Speedwell Author: Deanna Raybourn Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group Release Date: July 12, 2016 Pages: 354 Description In her thrilling new series, Deanna Raybourn, the New York Times bestselling author of the Lady Julia Grey mysteries, returns once more to Victorian England...and introduces intrepid adventuress Veronica Speedwell. London, 1887. After burying her spinster aunt, orphaned Vero...

Unraveling Oliver by Liz Nugent
Reviews / March 14, 2018

Title: Unraveling Oliver Author: Liz Nugent Publisher: Scout Press / Simon and Schuster Release Date: August, 22, 2017 Pages: 273 Description Oliver Ryan has the perfect life. Elegant and seductive, he wants for nothing, sharing a lovely home with his steadfast wife, Alice, who illustrates the award-winning children’s books that have brought him wealth and fame. Until one evening, after eating the dinner Alice has carefully prepared, ...

The Witch of Painted Sorrows by M.J. Rose
Reviews / March 14, 2018

Title: The Witch of Painted Sorrows Author: M.J. Rose Publisher: Atria Books Release Date: March 17, 2015 Pages: 384 Description Possession. Power. Passion. New York Times bestselling novelist M. J. Rose creates her most provocative and magical spellbinder yet in this gothic novel set against the lavish spectacle of 1890s Belle Époque Paris. Sandrine Salome flees New York for her grandmother’s Paris mansion to escape her dangerous hu...

The Slider Effect by Jonathan Melendez
Reviews / March 14, 2018

Title: The Slider Effect Author: Jonathan Melendez Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing Release Date: Jnue 28, 2016 Pages: 190 Description Sliders are an art form, a modern-tapas-of-sorts . . . A remarkable slider is one that allows you to evenly taste all of the delicious ingredients within it. You can't eat just one! Way better than a cupcake, sliders are delicious and fun—and you can't eat just one of these savory, handheld treats....

The Border by Steve Schafer
Reviews / March 14, 2018

Title: The Border Author: Steve Schafer Publisher: Sourcebooks Release Date: December 5, 2017 Pages: 364 Description One moment changed their lives forever. A band plays, glasses clink, and four teens sneak into the Mexican desert, the hum of celebration receding behind them. Crack. Crack. Crack. Not fireworks—gunshots. The music stops. And Pato, Arbo, Marcos, and Gladys are powerless as the lives they once knew are taken from them. T...