Jar of Hearts by Jennifer Hillier Book Review by Dawn Thomas   311 Pages Publisher: St. Martin’s Press / Minotaur Books Publication Date: June 12, 2018   Mystery & Thriller, Suspense   Georgina Shaw is a young successful executive at a pharmaceutical company. She is engaged to the owner’s son and has everything going for her. Her life comes crashing down when actions from her past emerge. Angela Wong is a beautiful sixteen ...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More

The Trouble with Harriet by Dorothy Cannell Review by Dawn Thomas   316 Pages Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Alibi Release Date: June 13, 2017   Mystery, British, Women Sleuths   Ellie stops by a Gypsy woman to have her future told. The woman tells Ellie that she shouldn’t be upset or surprised when her father shows up. Ellie’s father has been absent for most of her life with the exception of the occasional letter...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More

The Fall by Steve Taylor Review by Dawn Thomas   352 Pages Publisher: John Hunt Publishing Ltd Release Date: June 29, 2018   Historical, Cultural, Ancient Civilizations, Modern Civilizations, Sociology   This is an amazing book. I had many eye-opening moments while reading. The author discusses how the ancient people were peaceful until about 6,000 years ago. He provides historical information that details “The Fall” and the di...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More

The Pinochet Plot by David Myles Robinson Review by Dawn Thomas Paperback: 280 pages Publisher: Terra Nova Books (May 1, 2018) Language: English ISBN-10: 1938288203 ISBN-13: 978-1938288203 Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Political Thriller Will Munoz is a San Francisco attorney who represents high paying slick clients. While sitting in a deposition, he asked himself how he became this person. He receives a troubling letter from his mother that leads...

1 Comment belladonnathomas Read More

Book Review Ashes in the Ocean by Sebastian Slovin Review by Dawn Thomas 222 Pages Publisher: Nature Unplugged Release Date: March 17, 2018 ISBN-10: 0692051198 ISBN-13: 978-0692051191 Non-Fiction, Memoir, Suicide, Family Relationships, Counseling, Psychology, Grief & Loss The subject of mental illness does not get enough discussion. Families that are touched by suicide are never the same again. Most times, the ones left behind do not get res...

1 Comment belladonnathomas Read More

Everything We Left Behind by Kerry Lonsdale Review by Dawn Thomas Rating: 5 stars 348 Pages Publisher: Lake Union Publishing Release Date: July 4, 2017 General Fiction (Adult), Women’s Fiction, Relationships, Family Dynamics Carlos and James have something in common. They share the same body but not the same memories. James is suffering from a psychological fugue. In this state, James disappears and Carlos emerges. He lives in Mexico with his t...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More

Everything We Keep by Kerry Lonsdale Review by Dawn Thomas Rating: 5 stars 304 Pages Publisher: Lake Union Publishing Release Date: August 1, 2016 Series: The Everything Series General Fiction (Adult), Women’s Fiction, Family Dynamics Aimee should be happy on her wedding day. Instead she is planning her fiancé, James’, funeral. Her whole world is spiraling out of control. A woman approaches Aimee and tells her James is still alive. Aimee doe...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More

Designs to Color by Betty Schaffner Review by Dawn Thomas Rating: 3 stars Pages 23 Publisher: Tallfellow Press Release Date: February 17, 2016 Nonfiction, Arts, Crafts, Hobbies, Teens & YA This book is a combination of a coloring book with Zentangle images. Some of the pages use thick lines with large coloring areas while others are more detailed with thin lines. Most of the images are are abstract geometric shapes. Many of the images have b...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More

Blue Ribbon Canning by Linda J. Amendt Review by Dawn Thomas Rating: 5 stars 268 Pages Publisher: Taunton Press Release Date: April 28, 2015 Nonfiction (Adult), Food & Wine, Cooking For years, I have wanted to can and make preserves. I tried twice with disastrous results. When I saw this book, I had hope and was inspired to try it again. The book begins with detailed sections on ingredients, equipment, and techniques. The author provides hel...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More

The Gail Force by Robert Lane Review by Dawn Thomas Rating: 4 stars 399 Pages Publisher: Mason Alley Publishing / AuthorBuzz Release Date: September 16, 2016 Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Suspense The story begins with Riley and Karl preparing dinner in a house on St. Kitts. Karl stopes suddenly when he sees the Fat Man, Philip Agatha. As his last act, Karl throws Riley over the deck to save her life. Riley arrives in St. Pete, Florida looking for ...

No Comments belladonnathomas Read More
Blue Ribbon Canning by Linda J. Amendt
Reviews / March 20, 2018

Title: Blue Ribbon Canning Author: Linda J. Amendt Publisher: Taunton Press Release Date: April 28, 2015 Pages: 268 Description Blue Ribbon Canning takes readers on a canning journey and celebrates two American traditions--preserved food and state fairs--with more than 140 prize-winning recipes for jams, preserves, pickles, vegetables, fruit, and more, plus tips and methods for making delicious--and safe--blue ribbon recipes at home. Bl...

The Gail Force by Robert Lane
Reviews / March 16, 2018

Title: The Gail Force Series: A Jake Travis Novel Author: Robert Lane Publisher: Mason Alley Publishing / Author Buzz Release Date: September 16, 2016 Pages: 399 Description Jake Travis, while trying to expose a corrupt Miami art gallery, goes undercover for the FBI. The gallery’s owner, Phillip Agatha, is more enchanted with murder than art. Aboard Agatha’s luxury yacht, the Gail Force, Jake is taken with Agatha’s charming hospit...

13 Under the Wire by Gil Reavill
Reviews / March 16, 2018

Title: 13 Under the Wire Author: Gil Reavill Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Alibi Release Date: May 24, 2016 Pages: 241 Description: Los Angeles is in the grip of a monster riot. After thirty-six straight hours on duty, sheriff’s detective Layla Remington makes an error that could cost her badge. Shell-shocked, she retreats to the LASD’s temporary staging area: a once-grand mansion that Layla knows from what seems like...

Very Like A Queen by Martin Lake
Reviews / March 16, 2018

Title: Very Like A Queen Author: Martin Lake Publisher: Lake Union Publishing Release Date: January 26, 2016 Pages: 402 The King’s favor was her sanctuary—until his desire turned dangerous. Alice Petherton is well practiced at using her beauty and wits to survive in the Court of King Henry VIII. As the King’s favorite, she enjoys his protection, but after seeing the downfall of three of his wives, she’s determined to avoid the s...

The Awakened Dreamer by Kala Ambrose
Reviews / March 16, 2018

Title: The Awakened Dreamer Author: Kala Ambrose Publisher: Llewellyn Publications Release Date: December 8, 2017 Pages: 242 Description Your dreams can be an important part of your decision-making, relationships, and problem-solving—if you properly apply them. This easy-to-use book shows how to strengthen the connection between your conscious and unconscious self, helping you achieve your goals and discover valuable insight. You’ll...

Toward a Secret Sky by Heather Maclean
Reviews / March 15, 2018

Title: Toward a Secret Sky Author: Heather Maclean Publisher: Blink / Harper Collins Publishing Release Date: April 4, 2017 Pages: 384 Description Toward a Secret Sky by New York Times bestselling author Heather Maclean is a new breed of YA novel: an intelligent adventure-quest crossed with a sweeping, forbidden love story. A mix of reality and possibility, this fast-paced thriller will appeal to fans of Stephenie Meyer and Dan Brown as...

Traditional Wicca by Thorn Mooney
Reviews / March 15, 2018

Title: Traditional Wicca Author: Thorn Mooney Publisher: Llewellyn Publications Release Date: July 8, 2018 Pages: 216 Description “A masterful gem of insight and wisdom, Traditional Wicca: A Seeker’s Guide reveals the time-honored practices of initiatory Wicca, thought all but lost by many, but hidden like so many occult secrets in plain sight. Drawing a clear and respectful distinction between eclectic Wicca and its older more trad...

Ivory Ghosts by Caitlin O’Connell
Reviews / March 15, 2018

Title: Ivory Ghosts Series: A Catherine Sohon Elephant Mystery Author: Caitlin O'Connell Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Alibi Release Date: April 7, 2015 Pages: 303 Description Still grieving over the tragic death of her fiancé, American wildlife biologist Catherine Sohon leaves South Africa and drives to a remote outpost in northeast Namibia, where she plans to face off against the shadowy forces of corruption and r...

The Book Club Murders by Leslie Nagel
Reviews / March 15, 2018

Title: The Book Club Murders Author: Leslie Nagel Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Alibi Release Date: September 27, 2016 Pages: 264 Description Charley Carpenter has poured heart and soul into her clothing store, Old Hat Vintage Fashions. She’ll do anything to make it a success—even join the stuffy Agathas Book Club in order to cultivate customers among the wealthy elite of Oakwood, Ohio. Although mixing with the most i...

Cost of Life by Joshua Corin
Reviews / March 15, 2018

Title: Cost of Life Author: Joshua Corin Publisher: Random House Publishing Group – Alibi Release Date: March 17, 2015 Pages: 285 Description For readers of Preston & Child, James Rollins, and Brad Thor comes a gripping new thriller from Joshua Corin, in which an audacious hijacking is just the beginning of a twisted international nightmare. Flight 816 has been hijacked and the terrorists have decided to auction off the passengers onl...